Sunday, June 26, 2022 8:19 pm

Snapchat Detected Using Camera in Background? (Scary Reasons!)

snapchat detected using camera in background

Snapchat is a social app that allows you to send texts and videos called “Snaps” to your friends. 

These messages, pictures and videos are  short-lasting, disappearing after a few seconds and are not replayable. 

The Snapchat app allows for creative camera usage, and offers plenty of interesting filters for your videos. With it, you can easily create funny, interesting photos and share them via the app.

Before the popularity of Snapchat, the big hitters in social apps were Instagram, Candy Camera, and Retrica. 

However, the filters and optimization techniques that Snapchat offered quickly put it in the forefront of the market. Its unique, fun approach attracted the user’s attention amongst extremely strong competition.

You’ll already be aware that Snapchat revolves significantly around your camera, with picture and video sharing being the primary role of the app. 

In fact, you will find that the application will not even launch without you providing access to your mic and camera!

So, Why Does Snapchat Use My Camera In The Background?

Why Does Snapchat Use My Camera In The Background?

The primary reason that Snapchat is using your phone camera in the background is that you have given it permission, either on purpose or unwittingly. 

At some point, you may have given Snapchat permission to “Run App in Background”. 

However, there may also be some other reasons for this occurrence:

Software Glitches

Malfunctioning camera optimizations can cause the Snapchat app to use the camera in the background. 

To fix this, simply go to your phone settings and clear the Camera app data

If the problem persists, you might need to resort to performing a factory reset on the phone to fix the issue.

Faulty Hardware

A damaged lens could also cause Snapchat to use your camera in the background.

However, if you suspect this to be the case, it should definitely be left to the pros to deal with. 

Camera hardware repairs can be costly and tricky to carry out successfully; therefore, make sure to visit an authorized phone repair center!

Data Collection

Snapchat takes your photo and saves it to their database whenever you turn on your mobile. It helps the app to provide better-suited ads and ‘cameos’ based on your tastes. 

At the same time, this is one of the most relevant attributes for Snapchat’s overall high fun factor. 

After all, Snapchat is an app built around sharing fun stuff with your circle of friends. 

Showing Ads

If you have granted location permissions to Snapchat, it can track your whereabouts. 

It will note your surroundings using the camera, and cater the ads you see accordingly.

 If you don’t like utilizing this feature, you can turn it off in the app settings.

Other Apps Using Camera

There is also a possibility that third-party, malicious apps might be using your camera in the background. 

They tend to have a tricky code set to match the code of more reputable applications, and this is all used with the intent of data theft purposes.

While these dangers might not be obvious at first glance, you may be allowing them access to your phone when trying out a new app (especially one that you have downloaded off a suspicious website or app store). 

So, make sure to do your research and read plenty of past users’ feedback before downloading any app!

4 Solutions To Snapchat Using Your Camera In The Background

4 Solutions To Snapchat Using Your Camera In The Background

Now that we have looked at some of the possible causes for this issue,  here are some effective fixes:

Camera Software Glitch

If you think that it might be a camera software glitch, you can go to the Settings and clear the Camera App Data to eliminate this problem. 

If the glitch persists, the next step you might want to try is to perform a factory reset on the phone. 

This will reset the camera optimizations to the default factory settings and hopefully get rid of any glitches.

Note: Definitely carry out a backup of all the data in your phone before carrying out a factory reset as it will erase all the saved info and files.

Camera Hardware Glitch

A hardware glitch is a more serious issue. This can manifest as a camera lens malfunction, and points to internal damage being present. 

If you believe that your phone may have a camera hardware glitch, it’s best for you to take your phone to a professional technician. 

They will be able to make a diagnosis and decide the next best steps to take. These actions may include a lens change, camera glass change, or another internal part repair.

Camera hardware repairs can be costly, and if done poorly can negatively affect the extent to which you can use your phone in the future. 

Therefore, always make sure to visit an authorized center when carrying out repairs!

Data Collection

Unfortunately, data collection is central to the nature of Snapchat. 

When you log into the app, you are permitting Snapchat to use your camera in the background. 

If you don’t agree to this, it won’t let you log in! 

However, you can always choose to simply turn the app off completely whenever you feel like taking some pictures solely for yourself.

Malicious Apps Using The Camera

Go to the App Management section on your phone and look out for any apps you may have downloaded in APK format directly from the internet. 

Delete any such apps and scan your phone for viruses. If there are any hits, delete them immediately and be careful when downloading apps in the future.

Note: Never download any app in APK format! Always use the Apple app store or Google play store to download apps safely. 

How to Grant Snapchat Camera Permissions

How to Grant Snapchat Camera Permissions?

A Snapchat user has the authority to verify which permissions the application has access to. 

By taking the time to choose only the necessary ones, you can better tailor your user experience. This will also lead to the app using less battery power, so really it’s a win-win! 

Open Snapchat on your iOS or Android device, press the Account symbol in the upper left corner, then the Settings cogwheel. 

Look for ‘Permissions’ under the ‘Privacy’ section. You will be able to see the list of permissions Snapchat is currently utilizing and adjust your settings as you prefer.

Does Snapchat Always Use Your Camera In The Background?

No, Snapchat only has access to your camera when you open the app. 

It can’t interact with the camera when the app is closed or when used alongside other apps that utilize the camera. 

As for how often the Snapchat app can become active, you can manually adjust this cycle- for example, by limiting the app’s permissions list.

How Can I Tell Whether An App Is Using My Phone’s Camera?

How Can I Tell Whether An App Is Using My Phone’s Camera?

The answer to this depends upon your phone and software you’re using. 

Certain third-party apps can be used to gain a better understanding of this. 

Special icons (such as a blue dot) may show when Snapchat or a similar app has access to your phone’s camera at any given moment. 

Following the Android 12 version upgrades, Android devices now inform users whether an app is using the microphone or camera in the background. 

Although it does not specifically tell you which app, it just shows a green symbol at the top right corner of the screen.

On the iPhone, the iOS 13 update brought this same feature forward that informs the user whenever any app uses a camera or microphone in the background. 

Therefore, it’s important to be aware of these types of notifications and know how to tell them apart. 

That way, you’ll be able to adjust the Settings menu whenever you feel like the app access to your camera is getting out of your control!

In Conclusion

Snapchat is a popular app that many users enjoy for its fun factor and convenience. This supremely popular app is a great way to stay in the loop with all your friends. 

However, it does require access to your microphone and camera to work. As a result, many worry about the way in which Snapchat interacts with their phones.

As with other similar apps, the user has full reign over which permissions Snapchat can take advantage of. 

It will usually take just a few corrections in the Settings menu to straighten everything out. 

By adjusting your settings, you’ll be able to utilize the app according to your preferences and keep a close eye on the battery-draining and privacy aspects of this software!

Do you know how to stay safe on your smartphone? Keep yourself protected with our Comprehensive A-Z Of Smartphone Security right HERE!

Leave a Comment

Stay Up to Date With Mobile Tech Addicts

Join our newsletter and get a daily dose of things happening in Mobile Tech Addicts delivered directly to your inbox.

© Copyright MobileTechAddicts 2021. All Right Reserved.